Dear Friends/Queridos Amigos

Dear friends,

I am a little bemused to find myself writing this message from the house where I grew up in Fond du Lac, Wis. I did not think I would be here before December or January, nor did I believe I would ever live here again. Unanticipated circumstances being what they are, though, I am back in the United States sooner than I expected.

While still in Peru near the end of April, I was diagnosed with pericarditis, an inflammation of the fibrous membrane around the heart. This condition is typically caused by a viral infection, and the primary symptom is chest discomfort. After controlling the inflammation through treatment from very attentive and caring doctors and nurses in Cusco and Lima, I went back to my life and work in Andahuaylillas.

Unfortunately, the pericarditis returned shortly thereafter, and the Jesuit Volunteer Corps and some important figures in my life in Andahuaylillas determined that it was necessary for me to go back to the U.S. for additional care.

Since arriving in the U.S. a month ago, my doctors have discovered that some of the medicine I have been taking, while treating pericarditis in the short-term, increases the likelihood of recurrence. The solution is to wean myself off this medicine over the next six to nine months, with regular blood work and check-ins to measure progress.

All this is to say that my time as a volunteer in Peru has come to an early end. Anyone who has read this blog will know how difficult this news is for me. I found my work at Fe y Alegría to be incredibly life-giving. Living, learning and growing with friends, students and my volunteer community in Andahuaylillas has been one of the greatest privileges of my life.

Though I am sad that my time as a volunteer ended so abruptly, I am also exceedingly grateful to have had the experience at all. I feel great appreciation for the students I taught, colleagues with whom I worked, volunteers in my community and friends with whom I spent time. I owe a lot to all these people, as well as my coordinators with JVC. They helped make my time in Peru worthwhile and allowed a trying departure and illness to be a little more manageable.

I will continue to post Peru-related writing on here in the weeks and months to come, so I hope those of you who have enjoyed following this blog will continue to do so.

As I said, this medical condition and my subsequent departure from Peru were completely unforeseen. While that certainly makes all of this harder, it also opens me to deeper reflection about the uncertainties facing the lives of countless people I encountered in Peru and throughout the rest of the world. Though I dealt with the relatively comfortable doubts of whether or not I would be able to return to a place and life I grew to love, many people have the far more serious concerns of not knowing the source of their next meal or paycheck. Nevertheless, so many in these circumstances carry on with incomparable grace, faith and kindness. My hope is that some of this influence has rubbed off on me.

Thank you to all of the people who have supported me in any way throughout my time in Peru. I will always be grateful and hope to see some of you soon.

En paz,

Brian

Queridos amigos,

Estoy un poco perplejo a encontrarme escribiendo este mensaje de la casa en que crecía en Fond du Lac, Wis. No pensé que estaría aquí antes de diciembre or enero y no pensé que viva aquí otra vez. Circunstancias inesperadas, sin embargo, tenerme en los EE.UU. más pronto como esperé.

Mientras estuve en Perú en el fin de abril, fui diagnosticado con pericarditis, una inflamación de la membrana fibrosa alrededor del corazón. Esta condición típicamente está causado por una infección viral y el síntoma principal es dolor del pecho. Después de controlar la inflamación con tratamiento de médicos y enfermeras muy atentos y bondadosos en Cusco y Lima, regresé a mi vida y trabajo en Andahuaylillas.

Desafortunadamente, el pericarditis regresó un poco después, y el Cuerpo de Voluntarios Jesuitas y algunas personas importantes en mi vida en Andahuaylillas decidieron que era necesario a regresar a los EE.UU. para más tratamiento.

Desde mi llegada en los EE.UU. hace un mes, mis médicos han descubierto que algunas de las medicinas que he estado tomando, mientras tratar el pericarditis en el principio, aumentan la probabilidad de reapirición. La solución es que necesito destetarme de la medicina en las próximas seis hasta nueve meses con pruebas de sangre y visitas médicas a medir progreso.

Todo esto dice que mi tiempo como voluntario en Perú ha terminado. Cualquier persona que ha leído este blog sabrá la dificultad de estas noticias para mi. Mi trabajo en Fe y Alegría 44 me daba mucha vida. A vivir, aprender y crecer con mis amigos, alumnos y comunidad de voluntarios en Andahuaylillas ha estado un de los gran privilegios de mi vida.

Aunque estoy triste que mi tiempo como voluntario terminó en una manera tan abrupta, también estoy extremadamente agradecido que tenía la experiencia. Siento apreciación grande para los alumnos enseñaba, los colegas con que trabajaba, los otros voluntarios con que compartía comunidad y los amigos con que pasaba tiempo. Debo mucho a todas estas personas y también a mis coordinadores de JVC. Ayudaron en hacer maravilloso mi tiempo en Perú y hicieron una despedida y enfermedad difícil un poco más manejable.

Continuaré a poner cosas relacionados a Perú en este sitio en las semanas y meses siguientes, así que espero que los de Uds. que han disfrutado en seguir a este blog continuarán a hacerlo.

Como dije, esta condición médica y mi despedida de Perú eran completamente inesperado. Mientras esta ha hecho todo de esto más difícil, también me abre a reflexión más profundo en las incertidumbres en las vidas de muchas personas que encontraba en Perú y en el resto del mundo. Aunque afronté las dudas relativamente cómodas de si o no estaría capaz de regresar a un lugar y vida para que tengo amor, muchas personas tienen problemas más serias como no saber la fuente de su próxima comida o salario. Sin embargo, muchas en estas circunstancias viven con gracia, fe y bondad incomparable. Mi esperanza es que algo de esta influencia ha pasado a mi vida.

Gracias a toda la gente que me han apoyado en cualquier manera durante mi tiempo en Perú. Siempre estaré agradecido y espero que vea a algunos de Uds. muy pronto.

En paz,

Brian

About brianharperu

A recent Marquette University graduate who inexplicably finds himself living and working as a Jesuit Volunteer in Peru, Brian enjoys writing, learning new musical instruments, imagining himself to be a better athlete than he is, eating pancakes and voting as part of his civic duty.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Friends/Queridos Amigos

  1. Kim says:

    Sorry to hear about your illness and early return, Brian. Probably for the best though. Hope to see you soon…maybe at the Bagelmeister with your mom! Be well Brian.

    Mrs. P.

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

